‘Love, Henri’ by Henri Nouwen

imageLooking for a slow, savory read? The you should check out Love, Henri by Henri Nouwen. It’s a collection of letters he sent over his lifetime, and I found reading a few at a time was the perfect short mental break during the day.

The most beautiful aspect of this book is Nouwen’s immediate vulnerability with his corespondent, both close friends & strangers alike. He is able to jump to the spiritual struggle beneath the surface problems, and in doing so, he invites us al to take the same approach. Can I step outside my surface problems & see how the Lord is at work in my heart? Will I submit myself to His guidance as well?

I recommend this book for anyone who wants to get to know Nouwen, for anyone who wants to see how living life can be done with constant refelection to God, or for anyone struggling in life looking for encouragement. I can nearly guarantee that this book will hold encouragement for your heart, even if it comes in a letter your didn’t expect.

Check it out! Here.

I received an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review. Thanks Blogging for Books!

gabrielle prose

Leave a Reply

