Dear one, set it down.

Hello, reader.  I’m so glad you’re here!  I’m really looking forward to sharing with you what the Lord has laid on my heart to speak.  I have felt challenged to stop dragging my feet in obedience to the Lord, and this little bit of writing has been born out of His prompting to go & speak to the teen girls in my Young Life community.  I am so grateful for listening to the crazy idea, and these words have been burning down deep in my heart&mind for the past few months.

Can I challenge you as well?  Will you listen to one of those ‘crazy’ ideas that may just be a prompting from the Lord?  Even if it makes you uncomfortable?  You may be surprised how much it will be a gift for you in disguise.

 

Dear one, set it down.’

Young women, there is so much life in you.  Your futures are ahead, so many decisions to make.  A whole world of different possibilities before you!  It can be incredibly exciting; it can be terrifying.  But if you close your eyes, if you quiet your spirit, you can sit down on the steps of your soul & ask the Lord what He thinks. Did you know you can go to Him with anything?

Have you ever tried that before?  To truly shut it all out, the whole world, for a minute or two?  To take the deep breath in, and feel that presence of the Father.  For me, it has changed how I pray to really believe that I’m sitting down with Him, that He is waiting for me, even now.  He whispers to me in the sunshine & flowers in the morning, and He calls softly to me when I feel that life is moving too fast for me to keep up.

Ladies, Can I ask you a question? Do you trust God?  Do you believe that He is good?  Do you believe you can trust Him to be faithful in all His promises?  I want you to know you can.  You can trust Him, because He is good.  The scriptures are full of this truth…

“You are good & do only good; teach me your decrees.”

Psalm 119:68

     If you will stay with me on this point: God is good & you are loved & you can trust Him.  Let us move forward with a second question: what are His decrees? Let’s start with this one:

Have you made a choice about your sexuality?

    It is an important question, because if you don’t make a conscious choice, someone else may help you make a choice.  This world is full of pressure to choose; we call it advertising. We call it marketing; we call it persuasion.  It is all an attempt to sway your choice.  Will you allow me to encourage you in your choice?

     If God is good & we can trust Him, and if you know you are loved by Him, would you ask Him what he would say about this question?  What does the Bible say?  Let me share some scripture.

“How can a young person stay pure? By obeying your Word.”

Psalm 119:9

“Young people, it is wonderful to be you! Enjoy every minute of it. Do everything you want to do; take it all in. But remember you must give an account to God for everything you do.”

Ecclesiastes 11:9

“God’s will for you is to be holy, so stay away from all sexual sin.”

I Thessalonians 4:3

     So, when God made the first marriage, He gave Adam&Eve to one another.  This is the only way sexuality is described as good.  The two become one flesh, and it is good.  I went looking for where is said to ‘stay a virgin until marriage’ in the Bible, but I couldn’t find those words.  The Lord gives the guidelines for sexual intimacy to be in marriage, and all other sexuality is described as immorality.

    So now that we know that the Bible says, can we take a brief detour?  I want to speak to all of us about who may be feeling guilty right now.  But can I ask you? Who in this world, who in this room is blameless?  Who has never ever done anything wrong?  Who has never had lust in their mind, even if you’ve never committed the act?  Can I suggest to all of us here today, that none of us are considered a pure, spotless bride without the redemption of Christ!?

Listen to these words of hope:

You are not ‘used up’ or less than or defiled.  

You are not ‘used chewing gum’ or ‘and opened gift’.

You are a beautiful child of God.

& we all need Jesus.

    Precious one, we are all sinners, and not one of us is perfect.  Does that mean we don’t try to do what God calls us to do? Not at all!  But it does mean that we, as imperfect people, are all in the same boat.  We should not judge each other by their own temptations, because we are all different.  We all struggle with different things!  Let us encourage one another, as I hope I am doing with you today.  I would like to say this again: if you are an imperfect person, you are not alone.  We all are!  And God redeems us all- no matter how ‘many’ or how ‘few’ our sins!

    So now I’d like to read you a little something.  I hope it speaks to you…

“Father, what is sex sin?”

He turned to look at me, as he always did when answering a question, but to my surprise he said nothing. At last he stood up, lifted his traveling case from the rack over our heads, and set it on the floor.

“Will you carry it off the train, Corrie?” he said.

I stood up and tugged at it.  It was crammed with the watches and spare parts he had purchased that morning.

“It’s too heavy,” I said.

“Yes,” he said.  “And it would be a pretty poor father who would ask his little girl to cary such load.  It’s the same way, Corrie, with knowledge. Some knowledge is too heavy for children.  When you are older and stronger you can bear it.  For now you must trust me to carry it for you.”

And I was satisfied. More than satisfied-wonderfully at peace. There were answers to this and all my hard questions- for now I was content to leave them in my father’s keeping.”

an excerpt form The Hiding Place, by Corrie Ten Boom

Can I encourage you to trust your Heavenly Father to carry this load for you?  You can trust Him.  He loves you.  He is a faithful father.  No matter any of the other reasons why or ‘why not’ that we can think of, here is the bottom line: God tells us sex is for marriage.  And inside of those boundaries, it is a true gift.  It can be!

So I leave you with this: Can you put down what you’ve been carrying?  Can you trust God in this area of your life?  Can you choose differently for yourself, because of knowing Jesus?  Dear ones, set down that load.  It is too heavy for you now.  But one day, you will be ready for it, and it won’t be too heavy anymore! It will be a good gift to you!

Let us pray: Lord, hear our hearts’ cry to be close to you.  In your kindness, draw us to repentance for where we all fall short of your holiness.  Teach us how to give each other grace, and teach us how to care for one another’s hearts as we all struggle in this life.  Help us to trust you.  Help us to remind one another of how faithful you have been to us. Help us to remember that you love us, and you don’t give us ‘rules’ to keep us chained up, but to give us good gifts in your timing.  You are a good father to us; help us to see you. Amen!

((Seem overly simplistic?  Sometimes obedience is just.that.  Taking a command at face value, not trying to figure out a way around it, or above it, or below it.  We shouldn’t be reading the Bible as  story about us; it is all about God & what He has done for us.  How we respond to what He has done is up to us!))

Leave a Reply

